See Who’s Been Snooping your Google+ Profile

This post has been migrated to our new corporate blog here: http://tooq.ca/blog/see-whos-been-snooping-your-google-profile/

6 Comments on “See Who’s Been Snooping your Google+ Profile”

  1. Mike Totman says:

    Well constructed, I was all uppity and leaving a snarky comment on your stream when I decided to follow your link (carefully, in an incognito window). Well played sir.

  2. mytooq says:

    And the results from my FB style phishing scam PSA:

    Total shares and posts: 7

    Countries
    Canada
    31
    United States
    10
    United Kingdom
    1

    Browsers
    Chrome
    26
    Firefox
    10
    Mobile Safari
    4
    Internet Explorer
    1
    Mobile
    1

    Platforms
    Windows
    30
    Macintosh
    6
    Linux
    4
    Other Unix
    1
    iPhone

    I have to say that only two numbers really stood out to me, but just barely. The high percentage of Chrome users, and the ratio of Windows users to everything else.

    Certainly Google+ is likely to have a higher percentage of Chrome users due simply to brand awareness, but the ratio was a little surprising.

    If I was really cynical (which I am, just not in this case), I could put out a press release about how Windows users are more susceptible to phishing scams, similar to the faux press release that circulated a couple of weeks ago. Again, when looking at overall market share, this probably isn’t too out of line. The Linux number seemed high, but I follow and am followed by a lot of developers and so not terribly surprising.

    So what did we learn?
    1. Hypothesis: Google+ folks seem to be a little more weathered and skeptical about these types of things. It certainly did not go viral, though I have to wonder if it self replicated similar to FB versions, if it would have caught a spark somewhere.
    2. Hypothesis: Window’s users may be slightly more susceptible to falling for phishing scams.
    3. Hypothesis: Google+ people don’t care who looks at their profile in comparison to the same “need to know” on FB. This could be because FB is deemed to be personal (despite privacy) while Google+ really seems to be focused on being the public you most of the time due to being able to share things on a granular to universal level.

    I’d actually like to run similar tests on both Facebook and on Twitter. I may set them up over the next couple of weeks if I can find the time (I don’t even have the time to be writing this). While not incredibly scientific, I find behavior between platforms interesting.

  3. Marylin says:

    It’s genuinely very complicated in this busy life to listen news on TV, so
    I only use the web for that reason, and get the latest information.

  4. Hello, i believe that i saw you visited my web site so i came to go
    back the choose?.I am trying to to find things to improve my site!I assume its adequate to make use of some of your ideas!!

  5. Offensive says:

    Piece of writing writing іs aⅼso а fun, iff уou bе acquainted ѡith tһen you сan write ᧐r eⅼѕe it is difficult to write.

  6. I precisely wished to thank you very much again. I do not know the
    things that I would’ve used without these tactics contributed by you regarding that
    area of interest. Previously it was an absolute depressing dilemma in my circumstances, but discovering the very specialized
    approach you handled it forced me to leap with fulfillment.
    Extremely happier for your help and then believe you recognize what a powerful job you
    are always getting into training people today with the aid of
    your web page. I’m certain you have never met any of us.


Leave a Reply

