2,1..Houston, we have liftoff!

After a whirlwind couple of weeks and several months of beta, I’m happy to announce that myTooq.com has officially launched to the world!

We launched last night at StartupEdmonton.com’s  Launch Party 2 alongside six other companies:

We were in very good company with some great Edmonton companies launching exciting new products. StartupEdmonton supplied signage, food, a cash bar and one great party. I am eternally grateful to them for allowing us to take part and launch our first product to market. There is simply no way that I could have organized at that scale, with that much coverage, on my own. I met with and ran demos for government officials, potential customers, accountants, local investors, tech heads, and the mayor himself. The night was so busy that I saw friends that I didn’t get a chance to talk to and I couldn’t talk with everyone waiting to see a demo or get more information (if I missed the chance to talk to you last night, please see our press page on the blog to get in touch with me).

I was honestly surprised at how much interest we had. I figured with the game companies and all the other ‘cool’ tech, that we’d be standing around all night because invoices are pretty boring in comparison. Instead, it was tough to get anytime to meet the other presenters, chat with friends, or even call my wife and let her know how things were going (Sorry Shel). As this was my first launch, I was a bundle of nerves but managed to ease into things fairly quickly and I think things went alright. I’ve certainly polished my pitch about what we do and I gathered some really good feedback, most of it incredibly positive and encouraging.

And while it would be nice to be able to sit back, reflect and take a breather, there is a lot more that needs to be done. So a mere eight hours after getting home, it’s time to get back at it.

I also want to take the time to thank my wonderful friends and family that have put up with the ups and downs of getting to launch. My wife and son have been nothing short of amazing in their support. Thanks to Richard, Hugh, Jeff, Jeff, Warren, Greg, Bruce, Andrew, Jason, Jesse, Roy and many others that have helped out.  I have to thank beta customers that have provided feedback and support and to all of those that attended Launch Party last night and spent a few minutes to look and listen.

And extra special thanks to Ken Bautista, Cam Linke, Mark Donovan, Cindy Fulton, Tiffany Linke-Boyko, Sam Jenkins, Mack Male, Steven Reiter, Doug van Spronsen, David Quail, Kevin Swan and the volunteers from StartupEdmonton. It was an honour to be able to launch in such a special way. Edmonton should be proud to have such a bright, talented and altruistic group of people working to shine a light on arts and technology in this city. Simply amazing.

Leave a Reply

